Cart 0


Edward M. Epstein, Ed.D., Alan J. Lee Director

Since he began as Director in 2016, Dr. Epstein has overseen the expansion of TIP, recruiting a new and diverse body of teacher fellows, seminar leaders and faculty advisory members. In 2017 he spearheaded a redesign of TIP’s visual identity and website, raising the profile of the organization and making teachers’ curriculum unit writing more accessible to the public. Dr. Epstein also initiated a partnership with Temple University to offer seminars on their campus, and developed a closer working relationship with the School District of Philadelphia. His scholarly work has investigated the historical relationship between universities and their surrounding communities, noting the ways institutions of higher education both help and hinder social progress. Previously, Mr. Epstein was Associate Director of Education and Institutional Relations at the Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts. Upon moving to Philadelphia, Mr. Epstein founded the 40th Street Artist-in-Residence (AIR) program, which offers studio space to West Philadelphia in exchange for service to the community.