Skip directly to content

Whodunit? Using Technology to Unravel the Mystery of Mystery Fiction

The design of this curriculum unit was created for elementary level students in grades 3 - 5 who receive Learning Support services both in the regular education classroom as well as pullout instruction. In this unit, students will begin by exploring the origins of where mystery writing began. While it is believed the first mystery story came from The Book of Daniel over two thousand years ago, the first mystery story was published in 1841 by the famous author Edgar Allan Poe, titled Murders in the Rue Morgue. Following the success of Poe were other authors, such as Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, who created the now- famous character, Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie, who created Hercule Poirot.

Books that were carefully chosen for group and/or independent reading range from the beginning to end 3rd grade reading level. Interest level ranges from 3rd to 7th grade level. PA Standards will be addressed in the areas of reading, writing, and technology. Emphasis will be on developing higher-order thinking skills for students with learning disabilities or other medical/behavioral issues that adversely affect learning.

Darlene Schaffer
Download Unit: 

Post new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <p> <br>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.